A Letter to the Creators of Supernatural

*Season 10 spoiler alert! Don’t read this if you’re not caught up!!*

https://i0.wp.com/img4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20141008093829/supernatural/images/0/0c/Supernatural_Season_10_Background.jpeg

Dear Eric Kripke, Robert Singer, Philip Sgriccia, and whoever else is involved in the creation of Supernatural,

It’s time.

Time for the show to end.

We have been through almost ten seasons of hell (sometimes, literally). We have seen Sam and Dean get stabbed in the back (again, literally), fight their (inner) demons countless times, die for each other, fight with each other, and lose countless friends.

For the most part, the plot has been great. Demons, angels, vamps, shifters… who doesn’t love a good old-fashioned monster hunt?

Except, the show isn’t a monster hunt anymore. There might be a few episodes here and there where the boys gank a monster, but for the most part, Season 10 is the same thing we watched back in Season 3, when Dean sold his soul for Sam’s life. Sam, panicked and desperate, is going to any lengths to save Dean’s life now. Will it work?? Will it fail?? Well, you’re not going to kill Dean off, are you? Even if you did, Castiel would just bring him right back. Or SOMEONE would bring him back, SOMEHOW. So… where is this plot line going?

Season 9 gave one crazy plot twist. I didn’t see Demon Dean coming until his eyes flashed black. But that was wrapped up way too fast. Demon Dean was awesome and crazy and he disappeared in what, three episodes? Four?

The show I fell in love with years ago is not the same show anymore, naturally. I think I’d be more concerned about the show if it hadn’t changed at all. But the truth is, the writing’s starting to get dull, and the characterization is annoying. Why are Castiel and Crowley such babies? I miss the unapologetic badassery of the warrior Angel and the King of Freaking Hell. Overall, I’m kind of starting to feel… unenthusiastic about it.

It’s still exciting to watch the new episode every week, but how much longer can this go on?

It’s time to wind Supernatural up. It’s time to put Sam and Dean to rest, let Jensen and Jared move on to other projects, and let the show that so many have come to love end on a good note. Nobody wants this to turn into season 7 of Gilmore Girls (I’m looking at you, Jared) where the creators wrapped the show up super hastily and weren’t true to the characters. Please let Sam, Dean, and Castiels’ story end on a good note. Okay?

Oh, and, in the meantime, STOP KILLING ALL THE PEOPLE WE LOVE.

Why did Charlie have to die?! Why?! To push Dean to kill the entire Styne family? (by the way, the Frankenstein family? This is the kind of stretch in plot that I’m talking about. No matter how many surly blond Southerners you throw at me, I’ll never get over that). I’m tired of people dying, and I’m tired of people dying and then coming back. Just stop killing people. There are only so many characters that can be killed off before the audience gets tired of it. It’s not FEELLSS anymore. Now it’s just… annoying.

Let’s add Charlie’s name to the list of the dearly departed: John and Mary Winchester, Jess, Bobby Singer, Rufus, Ellen and Jo Harvelle, Ash, Anna, Lisa and Ben Braeden (who aren’t actually dead, but might as well be), Kevin Tran, Ruby, Meg (yes, we love the evil ones too), Benny, Gabriel, Gadreel, Pamela, Garth (again, might as well be dead), Adam, Tessa, Samandriel, Agent Henrikson…

Did I miss anyone?

This letter is meant with the best of intentions. I love, and will continue to love Supernatural with all my heart. The cast and crew have created a show that has brought me closer to my family, made me fall in love with TV shows, and completely ruined my expectations for how most normal men actually look (thanks a lot, Jensen).

Sincerely,

A Concerned Viewer

P.S. I’m not the only one who feels this way. Check out this rad post about Charlie’s death.

https://i0.wp.com/cdn.screenrant.com/wp-content/uploads/Supernatural-Season-10-Episode-200-Series-Finale.jpg

7 thoughts on “A Letter to the Creators of Supernatural

  1. I hate to say it but we are not in disagreement. It’s time to let the brothers have lives or find peace. It’s been ten years and everyone they’ve known in that time span is dead.

    You’re right. It’s not feels that Charlie is dead. Or maybe I’m still in shock. I’m not sure. I’m not surprised though because everyone who hitches the self to the Winchester cause gets killed.

    Another deeply frustrating plot point is the secrecy. The brothers just don’t learn. They do stop for a few episodes, and behave honsestly to each other but sooner or later they get up to the same tactics and someone dies. That too is really starting to irk me. I understand why they lie but still….it’s getting tired.

    I dread the day Jodi gets killed off but I won’t be surprised. It’s where the writers always seem to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “Another deeply frustrating plot point is the secrecy.”

      Dean has been surprisingly open this season. He could have lied about the book calling to him, and he told Sam about Rowena and he tells him how hes doing. I think hes doing better than Sam gives him credit for!

      The secrets always end badly! Stop already-I know they think they need angst-be creative and think of another way. I really think they need Edund back or at least some fresh blood in the writers room!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually agree with you-but not this time. I want SPN to go on. However, its time for NEW writers. They show can still go on and be better than ever with some fresh ideas from good writers.

    Like

    • I didn’t think about it like that! They are certainly in need of some new eyes. I bet there are lots of fresh writers out there would sell their souls for the opportunity to write on Spn.

      Like

      • “I didn’t think about it like that! They are certainly in need of some new eyes. I bet there are lots of fresh writers out there would sell their souls for the opportunity to write on Spn.”

        Right?? Or maybe a new showrunner-although I am really liking this season. There have been at least 5 EXCELLENT episodes this year and the season isn’t over yet.

        Like

Leave a comment